MEDITATIONS ON THE PROMISES OF GOD’S WATCHCARE IN THE PSALMS

How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee” (Psa. 139:17-18).

This entire Psalm is a revelation of God’s tender watchcare over and intimate involvement in the life of each of His saints. When God knows the thoughts of and searches the life of the redeemed, it is not to condemn but to bless. God’s omniscience and omnipresence are not to be feared but to be embraced, because His terrible holiness has been propitiated by Christ’s atonement. He has not given us the spirit of fear but the spirit of adoption (Rom. 8:15).

When He shows me my sin by His Spirit, it is not to destroy me but to lead me to repentance so that I might be conformed to the image of Christ. It is in this context that He knows my downsitting and uprising (v. 2). He knows my thoughts (v. 2).

One of the evidences of Jesus’ divinity was that He knew man’s thoughts (Luke 6:8). God compasses my path (v. 3). He is acquainted with all my ways (v. 3). He knows every word I speak (v. 4). He has beset me behind and before and laid his hand upon me (v. 5). In all places He leads me and upholds me with his hand (vv. 9-10).

Angels are messengers and helpers, but the Lord does not leave the care of His people to anyone else. It is with His own hand that leads and holds.

He fashioned me in my mother’s womb (vv. 13-16). The trillion parts of every cell and the interrelatedness of the 60 trillion cells in my body are His workmanship. The DNA of each cell, with its mind-boggling amount of information, is His workmanship. His thoughts toward me are innumerable as the sand (vv. 17-18).

It is redemption that has removed the terror of the fact that God knows every detail of my life, including every sinful thought, attitude, and action. All of my iniquity has been laid upon Christ, and I have been given His righteousness in God’s eyes (2 Cor. 5:21). Therefore, I do not fear asking God to search me and show me my wicked ways so that I might confess them and remain in fellowship with Him and walk in His will (Psa. 139:23-24; 1 John 1:9).

The more we understand God’s salvation and how completely His holy law has been propitiated (satisfied) by Christ’s blood, the more we can trust Him and draw near to Him rather than run away like Adam.

(Friday Church News Notes, July 5, 2013, www.wayoflife.org)

Leave a Reply

